About us;     

The American Legion Post 8 Baseball Board takes great pride in offering baseball to all area youth for a simple registration fee of $50. In place of a large registration fee to make baseball more affordable to all of us, Post 8 Baseball requires our players to sell raffle tickets as one of our major fund raiser before they can play in the program.

Even with the income from the players raffle it needs to be said that the majority of our income to run the post 8 baseball program comes from local businesses. Without the generosity of these local merchants our program does not happen.

Post 8 Baseball will have registration in the very early spring to help us determine how many teams are needed to accommodate our baseball players. In a typical year we will have 5 or 6 teams, including;

The Legion Team,
The Jr Legion Team,
The Teeners Majors Team, and two or three 
13-14 Teeners Teams (depending on numbers of players).

 Here is the link to our Mission and Philosophy Page.

A Diamond History

Among major league baseball stadiums, only Wrigley Field and Fenway Park are older than Pierre's historic Hyde Stadium. The 2010 season marked the 75th anniversary of Hyde Stadium as the home field for Pierre American Legion, VFW Teeners and amateur baseball.

Charles Lee Hyde, Sr., provided $1,000 for the materials for the stadium's construction. He was a major promoter of Pierre American Legion baseball. The stadium is named in his honor.

The stadium site was known as Capitol Field prior to the stadium's construction by federal relief-agency workers. The new stadium originally was called Hyde Park and hosted its first games in May of 1935. The bronze tablet from the dedication ceremony held later that summer in 1935 can still be found in the upper area behind the grandstand.

The 1935 season marked the start of a dominating era for Pierre in American Legion baseball. Pierre hosted the South Dakota American Legion state tournament at its new stadium and defeated Winner 7-3 in the title game, scoring four runs in the eighth inning.

Under manager Frank Kelley, Pierre began a string of state-title victories. The team won American Legion state championships in 1935, 1936, 1937, 1938 and 1941. Pierre also captured American Legion state titles in 1967, 1968. and 2017

The longest state-title streak in South Dakota American Legion baseball belongs to Rapid City, when it had a single team under Post 22. Rapid City won state championships from 1970 through 1991. The second-longest streak was accomplished by Aberdeen, which won five in a row from 1952 through 1956.

Pierre's four-peat ranks third all-time, tied with Rapid City Post 22's run of four from 1993 through 1996.

Pierre's has also won Teeners state titles at the 15/16s level in 2012, 1994, 1986,.1966 and 1964.